Press Release (15 September 2010) 

Blown Away – Exploring Bach’s Orchestra

The Hague’s Baroque Orchestra “The New Dutch Academy” (NDA) turns its attention to the Oboe for the next concert in its Bach Orchestra Series. Featuring virtuoso Baroque Oboists Anna Starr and Amy Power (pictured), the concert exploring and celebrating Bach’s relationship to the instrument commences at 14:30 on Saturday 13 November 2010 in The Hague’s Kloosterkerk. 

Recently described in the Dutch press as delightful and sparkling, Canadian soprano Stefanie True also joins the festivities on the 13th, performing arias for voice, obbligato oboe(s) and ensemble alongside the Bach favourite for Soprano and and Strings “Schlummert ein”. The programme culminates in the performance of the Bach Oboe classic, JS Bach’s celebratory Orchestral Suite no. 1 in C for 2 Oboes, Bassoon and Strings. 
Amy Power  
Preceding the performance, the concert’s Oboe soloists together with NDA conductor Simon Murphy will present a pre-concert talk discussing the origins of the Baroque Oboe as an instrument, its repertoire, related instruments such as the Oboe d’amore and Oboe da Caccia and the way in which Bach and his contemporaries composed for the Oboe. 

The Hague’s Baroque Orchestra “The New Dutch Academy” presents three main concert series in The Hague each season. The Bach Orchestral Series explores the instruments of Bach’s orchestra, Bach’s relationship with them and with their players. Previous programmes in this series have given focus to the Lute, Voice and Recorder. Upcoming programmes include “Bach and the Bass” (8 January 2011) and “Bach and the Flute” (7 May 2011).  

Blown Away – Bach and the Oboe

NDA Chamber Soloists directed by Simon Murphy featuring Canadian Soprano Stefanie True and the virtuosic Baroque Oboists Anna Starr and Amy Power 

  • J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite no. 1 in C
  • Aria “Erfüllet, ihr himmlischen göttlichen Flammen” (Cantata no. 1) 
  • Aria “Er richt’t’s’ zu seinen Ehren und deiner Seligkeit” (Cantata no. 107) 
  • Aria “Schlummert ein” from Anna Magdalena’s notebook (and Cantata no. 82 “Ich habe genug”) 

Tickets  Presale Tickets via Diligentia T 0900 – 4104104, €27,50 / €22,50, Youths/Students €5,-  

Season Brochure  Download NDA Season 2010-2011 Brochure now  

Press Photos  Download high resolution portrait of NDA conductor Simon Murphy 

Further Info     This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it