Press Release (15 October 2010) 

Exploring Bach's Orchestra - Turn it Up! Bach and the Bass 

Bach is the undisputed master of the swinging Baroque bass line! From the classic Air on the G String onwards, Bach's groove, distinctive harmonic progressions and rhythmic drive have inspired generations of musicians from his contemporaries through to Procol Harum and Jaques Loussier. As the Swingle Singers themselves said, Bach is the original swinger.  

The Hague’s Baroque Orchestra “The New Dutch Academy” (NDA) celebrate Bach and the Bass in the second instalment of the orchestra's "Bach Orchestral Series". Commencing at 14:30 on Saturday 8 January 2011 in The Hague’s Kloosterkerk, the concert's soloist is Spanish Baroque Bassist Vega Montero. 

Preceding the performance, Bassist Vega Montero together with NDA Conductor Simon Murphy will present a pre-concert talk discussing the origins of the Baroque Bass as an instrument, its solo repertoire and role in ensembles, related instruments such as the Violone and the way in which Bach and his contemporaries composed for the Bass. 

The Hague’s Baroque Orchestra “The New Dutch Academy” presents three main concert series in The Hague each season. The Bach Orchestral Series explores the instruments of Bach’s orchestra, Bach’s relationship with them and with their players. Previous programmes in this series have given focus to the Lute, Voice, Oboe and Recorder. Upcoming programmes include “Bach and the Flute” (7 May 2011).


Saturday 8 January 2011, Kloosterkerk Den Haag, 14:30 (pre-concert talk 13:45).  

Turn it up – Bach and the Bass

NDA Chamber Soloists directed by Simon Murphy featuring Spanish Baroque Bassist Vega Montero Sanchez de las Matas performing on Violone and Baroque Double Bass

  • Music by Bach, Corelli and Telemann

Presale Tickets via Diligentia T 0900 – 4104104, €27,50 / €22,50, Youths/Students €5,-  Book Now!  


Season Brochure  Download NDA Season 2010-2011 Brochure now  

Press Photos  Download high resolution portrait of NDA conductor Simon Murphy 

Further Info      This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it