Introduction to Season 2010-2011  Welcome to Season 2010-2011 in the NDA's home city of The Hague!

Simon Murphy

Through its Concert Season 2010-2011 in The Hague, The Hague's Baroque Orchestra "The New Dutch Academy" offers its city, and visitors to it, a full season's programme of vibrant and engaging performances, with repertoire ranging from orchestral suites of JS Bach through to the symphonic works of Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn and their contemporaries.

The season bursts open, immediately joyous and festive, with a large scale orchestral programme featuring the NDA Orchestra together with the absolutely delightful, Swedish star Soprano Susanne Ryden in arias by Rossini, Cimarosa, Mozart and von Weber.

Go directly to Concert Listing Season 2010-2011

Consolidating on the successes of the past season, 2010-2011 sees the return of the NDA's popular, three new concert series in The Hague:

The NDA's Symphonic Series (DAPZ) celebrates orchestral music from several glittering 18th century European musical centres during 2010-2011, including our own fair city of The Hague with a very special programme of recently rediscovered music from the The Hague's own Court of Orange symphonic tradition. Alongside giving new life to classic orchestral works such as Beethoven's 2nd Symphony in D and Mozart's Prague Symphony, the series also makes room to profile some of the less well known (solo) instruments of the orchestra - for example the Double Bass in the Concerto for Bass and Orchestra in E Flat by the Mozart contemporary and friend, Vanhal.

The NDA's Bach Orchestral Series (this year moving to The Hague's Kloosterkerk), exploring the instruments of the orchestra in the time of Bach and his relationship to them, offers audiences in 2010-2011 fascinating views of instruments including the Baroque Flute and the Baroque Oboe. These instruments will be given focus in several concert programmes with works by Bach and his contemporaries, and will be further illustrated by a series of engaging and educational pre-concert talks given by these instruments' passionate present-day performers.

In the Chamber Music Series (Theater Diligentia), the dynamic NDA Chamber Soloists perform in 2010-2011 Serenades by Schubert, Molino and Paganini, String Quintets and Sextets of Mozart, Mendelssohn, Beethoven, Wranitzky and Pleyel and the highly expressive Stabat Mater setting by Boccherini.  

The New Dutch Academy invites you wholeheartedly to join us in what will be, without doubt, a highly stimulating and rewarding season, full of wonderful musical engagement, expression, exploration and exhilaration! 

Concert Listing Season 2010-2011

Download Brochure 2010-2011 

Download Flyer 2010-2011 

NDA Orchestra in action